Working Group

The Bill Affordability Working Group was established as part of a collaborative process to assess and address energy bill affordability in Manitoba.

Working Group members, with the help of a supporting research team, will consider options and measures to address energy poverty in Manitoba including enhancements to existing Manitoba Hydro programs and assistance and new initiatives.

The Working Group will produce and submit a final report and implementation plan to the Public Utilities Board setting out the findings and/or recommendations from the process.

Gloria Desorcy
Consumers Association of Canada (Manitoba Chapter)
Gloria@CACManitoba.ca
204-284-1876

Catherine Gates
Employment & Income Assistance
EIA@gov.mb.ca
204-945-8730

Peter Miller
Green Action Centre
info@greenactioncentre.ca

Colleen Galbraith
Manitoba Hydro
204-360-7506

Michael Anderson
Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak

Marci Riel
Manitoba Metis Federation
marci.riel@mmf.mb.ca
204-586-8474 ext. 303

Melissa Davies
Manitoba Power Industrial Users Group

Josh Brandon
Social Planning Council of Winnipeg
jbrandon@spcw.mb.ca
204-943-2561 ext. 230

David Bonin
Ryall Engineering
PUB Advisor

Joanne Soldier
Southern Chiefs Organization
joanne.soldier@scoinc.mb.ca
204-946-1869

Donald Benham
Winnipeg Harvest
donald.benham@winnipegharvest.org
204-982-3675

Kurt Simonsen
Public Utilities Board
Kurt.Simonsen@gov.mb.ca
204-945-4801
The PUB is participating as a silent observer.

Engagement Sub-Committee

This group focuses on public outreach, creating awareness with stakeholders and the public about how they can share their views and participate in the collaborative process to address bill affordability in Manitoba.

Catherine Gates
Employment & Income Assistance
EIA@gov.mb.ca
204-945-8730

Colleen Galbraith
Manitoba Hydro
204-360-7506

Research Sub-Committee

Working alongside the research firm hired as part of this process, this group provides input on research considerations related to energy poverty and Hydro bill affordability in Manitoba.

Peter Miller
Green Action Centre
info@greenactioncentre.ca

Colleen Galbraith
Manitoba Hydro
204-360-7506

Josh Brandon
Social Planning Council of Winnipeg
jbrandon@spcw.mb.ca
204-943-2561 ext. 230